Ten deacon candidates were instituted into the Ministry of Acolyte Dec. 2 during a special Mass at St. Francis Xavier Cathedral.

Deacon candidates receive the ministries of Lector and Acolyte before being ordained as permanent deacons. 

As acolytes, the candidates can now assist the priest and deacon at the altar during the Eucharistic Liturgy, principally in preparing the altar and the sacred vessels and, if necessary, distributing the Eucharist as an extraordinary minister.

All 10 current deacon candidates are expected to be ordained as deacons in June and include Darrel Dubroc, Stephen Gramigna, Lawrence Feldkamp, Bill Endris, Luke White, Thomas Robichaux, Steven Newbury, Mark Adkins, Paul Sunderhaus, and Bill Aldridge. 

The next class of permanent deacons will begin in the Fall of 2018.