Let us lift up in prayer the men and women who contribute to the Church’s mission, of building up a civilization of love, as the Body of Christ here in central Louisiana.

In remembering all of us that work in central Louisiana, I ask that you remember in a special way our priests and deacons, who serve tirelessly in assisting me as I seek to care for the flock of the Lord, the boys and girls and teens and men and women of our Diocese. Please pray for and support these brothers of mine.

I want to share with all of you the changes of priest and deacon assignments that will take effect on July 1, 2018.  The assignments of deacons to be ordained in June will be published at a later date.   ~ Bishop David P. Talley

Clergy assignments, effective July 1, 2018:


Fr. Luke LaFleur, first assignment will be Parochial Vicar of the Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception, Natchitoches.

Fr. Jose' Robles Sanchez, is appointed Pastor of St. Juliana Church, Alexandria.

Fr. Remi Owuamanam has been transferred by the Superior General of his order to a new assignment in California.

Fr. John Wiltse, (originally appointed Parochial Vicar) will be Pastoral Administrator at St. Mary’s Assumption Church in Cottonport.

Fr. Stephen Scott Chemino, is re-appointed Pastor of St. Anthony of Padua in Bunkie.

Fr. Dale Meade, appointed Pastor of St. Mary Church in Winnsboro and the mission of St. John in Columbia.

Fr. Michael Craig Scott, is appointed Administrator of St. James Memorial Church in Alexandria.  He remains as Pastor of St. Rita Church in Alexandria and Vicar Forane of the Central Deanery.

Fr. Brian Seiler, appointed Administrator of Our Lady of Lourdes in Winnfield and the mission of St. William in Olla.

Fr. Derek Ducote, appointed Parochial Vicar at Our Lady of Prompt Succor Church in Alexandria.

Fr. Daniel Hart, is appointed Chaplain for Holy Savior Menard Central High School.  He remains as Parochial Vicar of St. Rita Church.

Fr. Dan Cook, re-appointed Chaplain at Manna House, Parochial Vicar for Nursing Home ministry at St. Frances Cabrini Church, Sacramental minister for St. Margaret Mary Mission in Gorum and St. Cyril Mission in Flatwoods.

Deacon Ted Moulard, appointed Deacon for pastoral ministry in Holy Ghost Church, Marksville and its mission of St. Richard Chapel in Hickory Hill.

Deacon Michael L. Young, appointed Deacon for pastoral ministry in St. Augustine Church, Isle Brevelle and its mission of St. Anne Chapel in Old River.

Deacon Richard Mitchell, appointed Director of the Office of Permanent Diaconate.  He remains as Vice Chancellor of the Diocese of Alexandria, Deacon for Pastoral Ministry in St. Francis Xavier Cathedral, and contact for the Office of Divine Worship.

Deacon Clifford “Kip” Pelto retires from active ministry as of July 1, 2018.

Fr. Jack Michalchuk, granted an extension to work outside of Diocese of Alexandria.